1st International Olympiad on Astronomy & Astrophysics
30 November - 9 December 2007 - Thailand

The five best students selected from the 1st Sri Lankan Astronomy and Astrophysics Olympiad left the country on November 29th to attend  1st International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics held in Chiang Mai, Thailand, from November 30 to December 9, 2007. The team was headed by the National Coordinator Dr. Chandana Jayaratne. Sri Lankan Olympiad was organized as a joint effort of  the Institute of Physics Sri Lanka and the Arthur C Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies.

Following five students from Sri Lanka participated in the 2007 IOAA.

Mr. Bungiriye Devinda Shameera Muthusinghe
Nalanda College - Colombo
Mr. G D Ashan Ariyawansa
Nalanda College - Colombo
Mr. Chamitha Mahendra  Rathnayake
Dhrmaraja College - Kandy
Mr. Jayasinghage Rajith Gihan Perera
De Mazaned College - Kndana
Mr Yasith Mathangasinghe
Dharmaraja College - Kandy

The following three students received honorable mention awards at the IOAA 2007.

Bungiriye Devinda Shameera Muthusinghe 
Chamitha Mahendra Rathnayake
G D Ashan Ariyawansa.


More information on IOAA