2nd International Olympiad on Astronomy & Astrophysics
19 August - 28 August 2008 - Indonesia

A team of students selected from the 2nd Sri Lankan Astronomy and Astrophysics Olympiad left the country on August 19th to attend  2nd International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics held in Bandung, Indonesia, from August 19 to 28, 2008. The team was headed by the National Coordinator Dr. Chandana Jayaratne. The team was given vigorous training on theory and practical sides of astronomy prior to their departure by the scientists at the astronomical observatory of the Arthur C Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies, Moratuwa and at the Department of Physics, University of Colombo by Dr. C. Jayaratne and Prof. T. Wickramsainghe, a visiting astrophysicist from the Pennsylvania University, USA.

Following five students from Sri Lanka participated in the 2008 IOAA.

Mr. G D Ashan Ariyawansa
Nalanda College - Colombo
Mr. Rajith Gihan Perera
De Mazenod College - Kndana
Mr. B.G. Eranga Thilina Jayashantna
Ananda College - Colombo
Mr Yasith Mathangasinghe
Dharmaraja College - Kandy
Mr K G D Nisal Menuka
Royal College - Colombo

Mr. Yasith Mathangasinghe of Dharmaraja College-Kandy received a honorable mention award at this Olympiad.


More information on IOAA