4th International Olympiad on Astronomy & Astrophysics
12 -22 September 2010 - China

A team comprising of five students who excelled at the National Astronomy an Astrophysics Olympiad -2010 was sent to Beijing, China in September 2010 to participate at the 4th International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics (IOAA). The team was headed by the National Coordinator Dr. Chandana Jayaratne. The team was given vigorous training on theory and practical sides of astronomy prior to their departure at the Department of Physics, University of Colombo by Dr. C. Jayaratne and Mr. Thusitha Themiya Nanayakkara, a second year student reading Astrophysics for his masters degree at University of Liverpool UK, on his summer vacation to Sri Lanka and by the scientists at the astronomical observatory of the Arthur C Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies, Katubedda, Moratuwa (S. Gunasekera , J. Adassuriya , I. Medagangoda and L.H.J.D.K. Fernando ).

Following five students from Sri Lanka participated at the 2010 IOAA held from 12-22 Septemebr 2010

Godagama Rajapakshage Danula Sochiruwan Godagama
Dhrmaraja College, Kandy.
Bannack Gedara Eranga Thilina Jayashantha
Ananda College, Colombo-10.
Dunumahage Sankha Lakshan Karunasekara
Ananda College, Colombo-10.
Hitihami Mudiyanselage Minura Sachinthana Dinith Kumara
Nalanda College, Colombo-10.
Dhanasingham Birendra Kasun
St. Sylvester College, Kandy.

Mr . Bannack Gedara Eranga Thilina Jayashantha, Ananda College, received a honorable mention award at this Olympiad


More information on IOAA